/* Mobile Menu Retract ---------------------------------*/

Little Shop of Horrors Dates Rescheduled 40th Anniversary Skid Row Block Party

Off-Broadway News Little Shop of Horrors Dates Rescheduled 40th Anniversary Skid Row Block Party

The party will also mark the Off-Broadway revival surpassing 500 performances at the Westside Theatre.

The Off-Broadway revival of Little Shop of Horrors will host a Skid Row Block Party July 23 from 4-6 PM in honor of the 40th anniversary of the musical’s premiere in 1982. Presented in partnership with the Times Square Alliance and the Westside Theatre, the free block party will follow a matinee performance of the hit revival. The block party also celebrates the revival passing 500 performances. The event was originally planned for May 6 but was postponed due to inclement weather.

The block party will feature live cast performances; a DJ booth by S.N.O.B.; face painting; Carvel, Mister Softee, and Van Leeuwen ice cream trucks; popcorn and cotton candy machines; Schmackarys, Sticky’s, and Baked By Melissa tables; and a 360º camera for fans and friends alike to virtually join in the celebration. There will also be a free raffle with prizes that include tickets to Little Shop of Horrors, a copy of the cast album, and a poster and Playbill signed by the cast. Neighboring eateries Bea and Little Pie Company will offer exclusive discounts with proof of a ticket from July 23’s performances.

Flip Through the 1982 Original Little Shop of Horrors Playbills

Little Shop of Horrors features a book and lyrics by Grammy and Academy Award winner Howard Ashman (The Little Mermaid, Beauty and the Beast), and music by Tony and Academy Award winner Alan Menken (Aladdin, Newsies). 

The current cast of includes Tony nominee Rob McClure (Mrs. Doubtfire, Beetlejuice), Emmy winner Tammy Blanchard (Life with Judy Garland, Gypsy) as Audrey, two-time Tony winner Christian Borle (Something Rotten!, Peter and the Starcatcher) as Orin Scrivello, Aaron Arnell Harrington (Rent) as Audrey II, Stuart Zagnit  (Caroline, Or Change, Newsies) as Mushnik, Khalifa White (Caroline or Change, School of Rock) as Ronnette, Cristina Raé as Crystal, and Khadija Sankoh as Chiffon. Rounding out the cast is Teddy Yudain, Michael Iannucci, Josh Daniel, Camryn Hampton, and Chelsea Turbin. Weston Long joins the cast as the puppeteer of Audrey II beginning July 19.

The Off-Broadway revival resumed its run September 21, 2021, after temporarily closing in March 2020 due to the pandemic.

The revival, directed by Tony winner Michael Mayer, opened in October 2019. The creative team for the Ashman-Menken musical also includes choreographer Ellenore Scott, scenic designer Julian Crouch, lighting designer Bradley King, costume designer Tom Broecker, sound designer Jessica Paz, puppet designer Nicholas Mahon, original puppet designer Martin P. Robinson, hair and makeup designer Tommy Kurzman, music supervisor, orchestrator, and arranger Will Van Dyke, and casting director Jim Carnahan. Puppets are by Monkey Boys Productions.

General management is by Live Wire Theatrical/Chris Aniello, and production stage management is by Howard Tilkin. Tom Kirdahy, Robert Ahrens, and Hunter Arnold produce the revival.

Little Shop of Horrors is based on the 1960 cult movie of the same name. The musical version debuted Off-Broadway at WPA Theatre in 1982 (subsequently transferring to the Orpheum) starring Lee Wilkoff and Ellen Greene in a role that would become her signature. A Broadway production was mounted in 2003 co-starring Hunter Foster and Kerry Butler.

Explore Rare Photos, Letters and Memories in Ellen Greene’s Little Shop of Horrors Scrapbook

Author: Webmaster