/* Mobile Menu Retract ---------------------------------*/

Look Back at the Last 25 Years of Pulitzer Prize-Winning Shows

As previously announced, Michael R. Jackson has been named winner of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize for Drama for his musical A Strange Loop. The prize, celebrated with a $15,000 award, is presented annually to the distinguished play by an American author, preferably original in its source and dealing with American life.

A Strange Loop made its world premiere last year at Off-Broadway’s Playwrights Horizons. It recently earned six Drama Desk Award nominations and won two Lucille Lortel Awards (for actors Larry Owens and John-Andrew Morrison).

The semi-autobiographical piece is the 10th musical to receive the distinction, following Hamilton, Next to Normal, Rent, Sunday in the Park With George, A Chorus Line, How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Fiorello!, South Pacific, and Of Thee I Sing.

In honor of the prize, look back at the last 25 years of shows that have been earned the honor.

Author: Webmaster