/* Mobile Menu Retract ---------------------------------*/

What Did Critics Think of New Broadway Musical The Band’s Visit?

The_Band's_Visit_Broadway_Production_Photo_2017_0168_Sharone Sayegh, Katrina Lenk, Jonathan Raviv, Tony Shalhoub, Andrew Polk in THE BAND'S VISIT, Photo by Matt Murphy, 2017_HR.jpg
Sharone Sayegh, Katrina Lenk, Jonathan Raviv, Tony Shalhoub, and Andrew Polk Matthew Murphy

The David Yazbek–Itamar Moses musical The Band’s Visit officially opened on Broadway November 9 at the Ethel Barrymore Theatre. The musical transferred uptown following an acclaimed Off-Broadway world-premiere at the Atlantic Theater Company last year.


Based on the 2007 film by Eran Kolirin, the show follows Egyptian police band, who, after a mix-up at the border, find themselves in a remote village in the middle of the Israeli desert. Over the course of an evening, the band members are led into unlikely friendships with some of the locals, causing their lives to intertwine and change irreversibly.

The cast is made up of Katrina Lenk, Tony nominees Tony Shalhoub and John Cariani, George Abud, Andrew Polk, Bill Army, Adam Kantor, Rachel Prather, Jonathan Raviv, Sharone Sayegh, Ari’el Stachel, Kristen Sieh, Etai Benson, and Alok Tewari.

The Band’s Visit features music and lyrics by Yazbek, a book by Moses, and direction by David Cromer. Patrick McCollum choreographs. Broadway previews began October 7.

Read reviews below. Check back for updates.

amNY (Matt Windman)

Broadway News (Elizabeth Bradley)

The Daily Beast (Tim Teeman)

Deadline (Jeremy Gerard)

Entertainment Weekly (Dana Schwartz)

The Hollywood Reporter (David Rooney)

The Huffington Post (Steven Suskin)

The New Yorker (Michael Schulman)

The New York Daily News (Joe Dziemianowicz)

The New York Times (Ben Brantley)

Vulture (Sara Holdren)

Time Out New York (Adam Feldman)

Variety (Marilyn Stasio)

Washington Post (Peter Marks)

Musicians include Andrea Grody, Alexandra Eckhardt, Ossama Farouk, Philip Mayer, Sam Sadigursky, Jeff Theiss, Harvey Valdes, and David Garo Yellin.

The creative team also includes Scott Pask (set design), Sarah Laux (costume design), Tyler Micoleau (lighting design), Kai Harada (sound design), Maya Ciarrocchi (projection design), Charles G. LaPointe (hair designer), Jamshied Sharifi (orchestrations), Andrea Grody (music supervisor, music director and additional arrangements) and Dean Sharenow (music supervisor and music coordinator).

Author: Webmaster